Town of Auburn Highway Safety Committee March 17, 2021

Committee Members Present: Mike DiPietro, Chairman, Sgt. Kevin Cashman, Dan Carpenter

Call to Order: Mr. DiPietro called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

Old Business

Mr. Carpenter asked the status of Depot Road and Mr. DiPietro noted the Selectmen are in negotiations with Manchester Water Works and have engineering in mind but need permission. Mr. Carpenter noted it is a safety hazard.

The Committee will continue to monitor parking issues around Tower Hill.

Approval of Minutes – February 17, 2021

Mr. Carpenter motioned to approve the February 17, 2021 meeting minutes. Seconded by *Mr.* DiPietro. A vote was taken, all were in favor, the motion passed unanimously.

Police Report

Sgt. Cashman reported 272 motor vehicle stops with 17 summonses, 10 arrests and 13 accidents. Highway Safety Grant applications are underway.

Road Agent Report – Tabled

There was a windstorm recently which brought down trees and caused multiple power outages.

New Business

Fire Lieutenant Dignard reported Eaton Hill Road is being blocked during afternoon pick up at the Auburn Village School and fire apparatus are experiencing delays to get through. This has happened about five times this week. Commuters are parking on both sides, and parents are getting out of their vehicles.

Sgt. Cashman noted due to Covid grades are being released in clusters with K-2/3rd going first. The older students are picked up after K-2/3rd and parents arrive early and attempt to line up. Cars are not pulling up tight. The second line needs to make room for the first line. There are plenty of signs asking not to block the entrances. Sgt. Cashman will send an officer over in the morning.

Mr. DiPietro asked if the fire apparatus could avoid turning right and Lieutenant Dignard indicated they would then be nose to nose with the buses.

Adjourn

The next meeting is on April 21, 2021 at 7 PM.

Sgt. Cashman motioned to adjourn the meeting at 7:30 PM. Mr. Carpenter seconded the motion. With all in favor, the motion passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy J. Hoijer, Recording Secretary